# Kingston Vale Leisure Gardeners' Association

### Minutes for the delayed 2020 AGM held on 31<sup>st</sup> January 2021 via Zoom

The Annual General Meeting started at 5:03pm Zoom co-hosts: John Foley and Alison Forrester

**Welcome:** The Zoom host John Foley welcomed people to the AGM which was being held online for the first time due to the pandemic. He reminded attendees to observe the Zoom protocol.

Apologies for absence: Michael & Julie Ziton, Sarah Bouchier.

**Present:** 34 plot holders attended in total (see sheet below). Some came and left at different times.

#### Approval of Minutes of the 2019 AGM.

Draft Minutes from the last AGM, held on 22<sup>nd</sup> March 2019, were circulated to all plot-holders on 26<sup>th</sup> January 2021. The meeting agreed that this copy of the Minutes could be taken as the final record. Dorothy Cromwell mentioned that Wendy Langhorne, the former Secretary had another version but it was not submitted for the AGM.

**Officers' reports** The officers' reports distributed to plot-holders on 26<sup>th</sup> January were taken as read. These included:

- Chairman's Report
- Vice-Chair's Report
- Treasurer's Annual Report for 2019
- Audited Accounts for 2019
- Treasurer's Annual Report for 2020
- Audited Accounts for 2020
- Report from the Interim Management Group (IMG)

No questions were raised on any of these reports.

#### Appointment of Officers and Committee members.

13 plot-holders had been nominated to be on the KVLGA Committee. The nominations were correctly made on the official online forms issued to all plot-holders on 6<sup>th</sup> January 2021 with submissions by 24<sup>th</sup> January 2021. On 25th January 2021, the names of the nominated persons, together with the names of their proposer and seconder was published on the KVLGA noticeboard at the allotment site, and simultaneously an email with the same details was sent to all plot-holders.

It was noted that none of the positions for the four officers was opposed. The Constitution of KVLGA does not specify a maximum number of persons on the Committee and there was no reason it could not comprise four officers and nine general committee members. Georgina McAughtry expressed concern that 13 people standing for the committee may be too many and that instead people could be co-opted onto the Committee later. However, it was accepted that co-optees would not have a vote at committee meetings and the objection was not pursued. Mehran Moini pointed out that the KVLGA website welcomes new members to contribute. Bill Trimble explained that at the AGM planning meeting on 20<sup>th</sup> January 2021, open to all members, there had been mutual agreement between all the candidates that they would go forward together as a "slate" and hence there was no need to vote for any of the nominee in order to promote co-operation and team working. A discussion was held whether to ratify all 13 nominees en-bloc or individually. A motion to ratify them en-bloc rather than individually was passed by 16 out of the 29 plot holders then present. The follow up motion to ratify the 13 nominees en-bloc was passed by 17 out of the 29 plot holders then present.

## The new committee comprises:

<u>Officers</u>	
James Hunt	– Chairman
Dorothy Cromwell	– Vice-Chair
Bill Trimble	<ul> <li>Treasurer</li> </ul>
John Nowak	<ul> <li>Secretary</li> </ul>

<u>General Committee</u> Sammie Wisman Jason Dean John Foley Alison Forrester Wes Henzell

Sean McCormack Mehran Moini Bobby Sisodiya Johnny Bouchier

As the new Committee was now in place, the meeting chair was offered to James Hunt.

## Resolutions

The resolutions which had been duly submitted for the AG (and emailed to all plotholders and posted on the Notice Board) were briefly introduced by James Hunt and John Foley who pointed out that the individual resolutions were inter-related. There was considerable discussion during which several detailed matters arose which would need more time to consider fully. Hence the Chairman moved, nem con, that all of the resolutions would be considered in due course by the new Committee. It was agreed that the Committee would produce clear proposals by the time of the next AGM, which will probably be late summer of 2021.

# Any Other Business

Lucy Di Gruttola and Adrian Dalmedo both made the point that many people on the allotment were not computer literate and therefore not able to attend the meeting. The response was that unfortunately, due to Covid-19, meetings in person between members was not possible and hence we were obliged to hold the AGM online. The Committee had offered to help anyone with their digital devices, but nobody had requested help. John Nowak, as new Secretary, agreed to make sure that the association meetings were as inclusive as possible.

Colin Hunt asked why there had been no postal vote. The reason was that there were no opposing candidates and hence no need for voting. He went on to ask questions about

allotment expenditure, but the meeting then ran out of time. Bill Trimble, Treasurer, agreed to contact Colin directly on this topic.

Luigi Di Gruttola stated he had submitted his nomination to be on the new committee. Johnny Bouchier stated no such nomination had been received. Adrian Dalmedo asked for this matter be investigated. Johnny Bouchier followed up and Luigi has confirmed the matter is now closed.

Miriam Hudek-Milicevic asked the Committee be sympathetic towards plot holders who spend time abroad. James Hunt asked her to email him with details.

In concluding, the new chairman, stated he was very happy to work with the new Committee to move things forwards for the allotments.

The Annual General Meeting closed at 6:35pm

Minutes by Johnny Bouchier 4th February 2021 with comments from Bill Trimble and John Foley.

# List of 34 attendees for the delayed 2020 AGM held on 31<sup>st</sup> January 2021 via Zoom

- 1. Adrian Dalmedo
- 2. Alex Buss
- 3. Alison Forester (Zoom co-host)
- 4. Barry Wood
- 5. Ben Beavis
- 6. Bill Trimble
- 7. Bobby Sisodiya
- 8. Colin Hunt
- 9. Dorothy Cromwell
- 10. Georgina McAughtry
- 11. Gerry Grant
- 12. Goolam Meeran
- 13. Jackie Nowak
- 14. James Hunt
- 15. Jess Redman
- 16. John Foley (Zoom co-host)
- 17. John Nowak
- 18. Johnny Bouchier
- 19. Keya Ashraf
- 20. Leila Raivio
- 21. Lucy Di Gruttola
- 22. Luigi Di Gruttota
- 23. Maria Cruz Ferreira
- 24. Mehran Moini
- 25. Mike Ribton
- 26. Miriam Hudek-Milicevic
- 27. Monika Jablonska
- 28. Monika Juryniec
- 29. Sammie Wiseman
- 30. Sean McCormack
- 31. Serhiy Stelmakh
- 32. Tom Wood
- 33. Violet Dolezal
- 34. Wes Henzell